Rugby World Cup 2023 Betting Odds

The Rugby World Cup 2023 will begin on 8th September. This year’s tournament is being held in France. France has jointly hosted World Cups before, but this will be the first time the competition will be held solely in this country.

Let’s take a look at what Rugby World Cup betting odds and promotions are available as we await the tournament to begin.

Rugby World Cup Schedule

The Rugby World Cup takes place between 8th September and 28th October 2023. This year’s competition is slightly longer than previous editions, allowing for more rest time for the players.

The RWC 2023 knockout stages begin on Saturday 14th October and continue over the weekend. The semi-finals take place on 20th and 21st October. The Rugby World Cup Final will be on Saturday 28th October.

Game Week 3

Wednesday 27th September

  • Uruguay vs Namibia(16:45 UK time)

Thursday 28th September

  • Japan vs Samoa (20:00 UK time)

Friday 29th September

  • New Zealand vs Italy (20:00 UK time)

Saturday 30th September

  • Argentina vs Chile (14:00 UK time)
  • Fiji vs Georgia (16:45 UK time)
  • Scotland vs Romania (20:00 UK time)

Sunday 1st October

  • Australia vs Portugal (16:45 UK time)
  • South Africa vs Tonga (20:00 UK time)

Rugby World Cup Betting offers

France are ever so slightly favourites to win the 2023 edition of the Rugby World Cup. There isn’t much in it, though, with many betting sites pricing New Zealand the same as the hosts. New Zealand hold the record for most tournament wins with three, alongside 2019 victors South Africa.

Rugby World Cup Odds to Win





Star Sports

 🇿🇦 South Africa
3.75 3.80 3.75 3.75
 🇫🇷 France
4.00 3.90 4.00 3.75
 🇮🇪 Ireland
5.00 5.00 5.00 5.00
 🇳🇿 New Zealand
5.00 5.00 5.00 5.00
 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿 England
12.00 11.00 11.00 11.00
 🇦🇺 Australia
23.00 26.00 26.00 23.00

We’ve taken a look at the Outright Winner odds. Let’s now look at what other RWC odds are available currently.

Individual match odds for the first round of games are available at many bookmakers. To Reach The Final odds are also open for betting, with William Hill, 888sport and Boylesports opening this market already.

Pool Winner odds are also available. This type of betting can also offer a range of bonus opportunities and promotions. It can also offer slightly more value than individual match betting. Find Pool Winner odds at a number of betting sites, including Paddy Power, William Hill, Unibet and 10bet.

Rugby World Cup Groups (Pools)

England are in Pool D, alongside Japan, Argentina, Samoa and Chile. The hosts France are in Pool A, with New Zealand, Italy, Uruguay and Namibia. Defeding Champions South Africa are in Pool B, with Ireland, Scotland, Tonga and Romania. Wales are in Pool C, with Australia, Fiji, Georgia and Portugal completing the group.

After week one's games the tables look like this:

Pool A

Team Played Won Drawn Lost Bonus P Points
France 3 3 0 0 0 13


2 1 0 1 1 10
New Zealand  2 1 0 1 1 5


2 0 0 2 0 0
Namibia 3 0 0 3 0 0

France are massive favourites to win the group with the bet unavailable at some bookmakers. Amongst those where you can get on the odds are: 1/100

Pool B

Team Played Won Drawn Lost Bonus P Points
Ireland 3 3 0 0 2 14
South Africa 3 2 0 1 2 10
Scotland 2 1 0 1 1 5
Tonga 2 0 0 2 0 0
Romania 2 0 0 2 0 0

Despite not picking up an early bonus point South Africa are still favourites to top the group: 57/100

Pool C

Team Played Won Drawn Lost Bonus P Points
Wales 3 3 0 0 2 10


2 1 0 1 2 6
Australia 3 1 0 2 2 6
Georgia 2 0 1 1 0 2
Portugal 2 0 1 1 0 2

Australia are still favourites in Pool C at 67/100 but Wales are not far off still at 7/4

Pool D

Team Played Won Drawn Lost Bonus P Points
England 3 3 0 0 2 14
Samoa 2 1 0 1 1 5
Japan 2 1 0 1 1 5
Argentina 2 1 0 1 0 4
Chile 3 0 0 3 0 0

After the opening game Englands impressive performance against the only other first tier team in the group has cemented them as strong favourites at 1/10

Rugby World Cup Outright Winner

Current Rugby World Cup odds see hosts France as slight favourites. You can find odds of around 3/1 available on France to win outright. New Zealand are second favourites, priced at around 10/3 with many Rugby World Cup betting sites. Current Champions South Africa are around 5/1.

What about the British sides? England are priced at around 10/1 to win the Rugby World Cup 2023.

 The odds on a Scotland victory is around 20/1, though some Rugby betting sites are offering much longer odds. 

The same can be said of Wales’s chances, with many bookmakers pricing them at 40/1.

There are a range of Rugby World Cup betting odds available now. To Reach The Final, Pool Winners and individual Match Winner odds are open at bookmakers.

Where to bet on the Rugby World Cup 2023

As we’ve seen, there are a number of Rugby World Cup betting sites you can choose from. There are many offering tournament odds already. Bet365 and Skybet are just two of these, along with Paddy Power, William Hill and Betfair.

You can find RWC betting odds at most bookmakers. Many of them also offer promotions and bonus opportunities. Rugby World Cup enhanced odds and price boosts will also be available, particularly as we approach the start of the tournament.

Previous Rugby World Cup winners

South Africa are the current holders of the RWC. They defeated England in the Final of the 2019 edition, for their third Rugby World Cup Final win. This fixture was a repeat of the 2007 Final, where South Africa won 15-6. They are now the joint most successful side in the history of the Rugby World Cup, alongside New Zealand.

Talking of New Zealand, two of their wins are sandwiched between these two South Africa victories. The All-Blacks beat Australia in the 2015 Final, which followed a narrow victory over France in 2011.

New Zealand also won the first ever Rugby World Cup, beating France in the 1987 Final.



Runner Up


New Zealand






South Africa

New Zealand








South Africa



New Zealand



New Zealand



South Africa


Rugby World Cup Frequently Asked Questions

When does the Rugby World Cup start?

The Rugby World Cup 2023 will begin on 8th September with hosts France taking on New Zealand.

Who is the most successful Rugby World Cup side?

New Zealand and South Africa hold the record for most tournament wins, with three apiece. Australia have won the competition twice, with England winning once.

Who has scored the most Rugby World Cup points?

England’s Jonny Wilkinson holds the record for most World Cup points. Wilkinson amassed 277 points in his World Cup appearances. Grant Fox of New Zealand holds the record for most points in one tournament, with 127. The All-Blacks continue to dominate these records, with Simon Culhane holding the record for most points in a match (45) and Marc Ellis with the most tries in a match with six.

Who is the favourite to win the Rugby World Cup 2023?

Most betting sites have France as slight favourites to win the Rugby World Cup. New Zealand are joint favourites with some bookmakers, with Ireland slightly outside the top two.